Without Ever Reaching the Summit

Author(s): Cognetti, Paolo

Travel Writing

An awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth, from the author of international bestseller The Eight Mountains


Paolo Cognetti marked his 40th birthday with a journey he had always wanted to make: to Dolpo, a remote Himalayan region where Nepal meets Tibet. He took with him two friends, a notebook, mules and guides, and a well-worn copy of The Snow Leopard.


Written in 1978, Matthiessen's classic was also turning forty, and Cognetti set out to walk in the footsteps of the great adventurer.


Without Ever Reaching the Summit combines travel journal, secular pilgrimage, literary homage and sublime mountain writing in a short book for readers of Macfarlane, Rebanks and Cognetti's own bestseller, The Eight Mountains.


An investigation into the author's physical limits, an ancient mountain culture, and the magnificence of nature, it is an awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth.

$25.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781787302273
  • : Penguin Random House
  • : Harvill Secker
  • : 0.25
  • : October 2020
  • : ---length:- '20.4'width:- '13.2'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Cognetti, Paolo
  • : Hardback
  • : English
  • : 915.49604
  • : 160